I Remember


I Remember

I remember the man wiping
his face and tear filled eyes.

I remember his life-long work
for justice

and his work to ensure
we do not forget.

He’d want us to remember
how it started with an election.

Simon Wiesenthal,
we have not forgotten.

 

It is Father’s Day and I’m thinking of my dad and the flash backs he had about World War II. I was born a few years after the war ended. It is hard to know the energy that passes forward to a new born child, but I sense that echoes of energy do pass through generations. I know World War II had a great impact on all our lives, even if we weren’t yet born.

I’m also thinking today about another man horrifically touched by World War II. His name was Simon Wiesenthal. 

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I Remember

  1. lynnhesse says:

    I wasn’t familiar with Simon Weisenthal. Now, I am. I looked him up. Wikipedia: “When the Germans first came to my city in Galicia, half the population was Jewish: one hundred fifty thousand Jews. When the Germans were gone, five hundred were alive. … Many times I was thinking that everything in life has a price, so to stay alive must also have a price. And my price was always that, if I lived, I must be deputy for many people who are not alive.”
    Thank you, Sabra, for reminding us all. -Lynn

  2. vivachange77 says:

    Powerful sense of the chilling legacy of WW II to future generations. I agree the past is lodged somewhere within us.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Yes, it just has to be, at least in my mind. Scientists now say that memory is passed through our DNA. That’s an interesting thought. Thank you for your visit and I appreciate your comment.

  3. Lisa says:

    Sabra, thank you for your poetry honoring Simon Wiesenthal, Fathers and choices, they are oh so important. In my office hangs a poster with Mr. Wiesenthal’s quote “Freedom is not a gift from Heaven – one must fight for it every day.” Thank you for re-minding me to re-member.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Lisa, I love that you have his quote in your office, Makes me smile to think of it. One of my favorite quotes of his is “for evil to flourish it only requires good men to do nothing.” Thank you for visiting my blog and letting me know about your poster. Big hug to you!

  4. So touching. My father died in that war. I never knew him.

    • Just realized why I recognize Wiesenthal’s name
      There is a6museum bearing his name where I grew up…I think. Will double check.

      • Sabra Bowers says:

        Sad to hear about your father, Victoria. I wish you had known him. I know there is a museum in the U.S., but I don’t remember which city. I’d be interested to know when you double check. I’m always happy to see you here.

  5. claudia says:

    it is important to remember to not make the same mistakes again
    my parents both were kids during WWII and saw things no kid should see
    have to look up Simon Wiesenthal…

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Yes, it is so important not to make the same mistakes again, Claudia. My dad certainly saw things no one should see, my brother did too, but in a different war. So glad you posted your poem. I’ve not posted much myself, although I’ve written many poems over the past year. Enjoy learning about Wiesenthal.

  6. Wonderful to read your verse. Yes, Simon Wiesenthal was a man to remember, and he asked us to remember the horror of WWII. My dad was a paratrooper in the war, but he never discussed it. Just woke up many nights screaming. My mom only said, “he’s having a nightmare about the war.”

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you for sharing about your dad. My dad didn’t talk about the war either. It felt good to remember Wiesenthal’s life-long work for justice. May they all rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

