Encircled

Encircled

surprise in the pines
fruit and flowers cover the ground
surrounding Ganesh

Cedar Hill was a retreat center established by a couple of Catholic nuns in Dawsonville, Georgia.  The book club I belong to was started at Cedar Hill.

The first time I walked the trail through the woods there, I was surprised and delighted to see a statue of Ganesh with beautiful flowers and fruit covering the ground around it.

Some years later the nuns left for other places and work in the world.  Cedar Hill then became an education center dedicated to sustainable living, and is now closed.

Along with other people and places, I miss Cedar Hill.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Art, Essay, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Encircled

  1. There are those sacred places I hold in memory and return there in spirit. You brought to mind one that had been a Carmelite monastery at one time.

  2. julespaige says:

    Some sacred places can be shared by many.
    Others it seems become cloistered requesting no trespassing…

    Is this your place: http://www.localharvest.org/cedar-hill-enrichment-center-M34890
    I also had to look up Ganesh. http://blog.sivanaspirit.com/7-surprising-things-didnt-know-ganesh/

    A lovely memory you have shared here. Thanks for stopping by ~ All the best, Jules

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Jules, yes, that is the Cedar Hill I wrote about. I enjoyed reading the information you shared about Ganesh. Imagine my surprise finding his statue in the Georgia Pines. So glad to have your visit here, Jules.

  3. lynnhesse says:

    Sitting in a tree is a sacred place for me. Thanks for the reminder to stop, breathe, and look. Lynn

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      My guess would be that you stop, breathe, and look on a regular basis, Lynn. In, under, or beside trees is always a sacred place for me too, Lynn. Thanks for your visit.

  4. Mark Spruill says:

    It’s interesting how places become special to us, often times for what they represent to us as much or more than where or what they are. When I miss a place that is gone, I know it’s time to look for someplace new… to build new memories.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Mark, I’d like to find another place like Cedar Hill, but I haven’t found one. Your comment encourages me though. I’d like to build new memories like the ones I have of Cedar Hill. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. This space feels sacred…it’s rich the way you’ve remembered and shared it with us. Thank you.

  6. claudia says:

    very cool to find a place like this by coincidence – and i always think it’s so sad when what was full of life vanishes

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Claudia, I agree with both, very cool and so sad. I’m still a little sad about the loss of Cedar Hill. But I still have some friendships I made there and sweet memories. Love that you visited my blog. I enjoyed your latest poem and art.

Leave a Reply

