Lost

in her life she allows
a door for fairies

she listens for their song
soft as frost on purple pansies

she sees them fly as low as the puff
of dark dust from a devil’s mushroom

and she sees their twinkle as brief
as the glow of lightning bugs

they are setting a tea party in the ferns
by the creek under the rhododendron

her camera catches them as orbs
lost in a fairy forest in Otto

Written for We Wordle 32 at Red Wolf Poems.  The words are fly, dust, song, puff, toy, frost, fairies, soft, door, lost, life.  I used all the words except toy.  Also, we were to mention a child’s game and mine is a tea party.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lost

  1. The Real Cie says:

    Sometimes I believe in magic because I choose to.
    Sometimes I believe in magic because I see it.
    This poem is magic!
    Thank you for visiting us at poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com

  2. claudia says:

    you know i’m glad that she allows a door for fairies in her life… an entrance for the magic and all that they bring along…
    nice…
    happy saturday sabra

  3. she allows
    a door for fairies
    she listens for their song… Oh, I love that

  4. I love the richness in which you capture those faeries.. so wonderful with song as soft as frost on purple pansies.. beautiful

  5. Magical Sabra…I love the mention of all the beautiful flowers. 🙂

  6. Jennifer G. Knoblock says:

    Yes! to allowing a door for fairies and to listening for their song. And always yes to purple pansies!

  7. kaykuala h says:

    they are setting a tea party in the ferns
    by the creek under the rhododendron

    There is so much beauty in greenery and colors and you’ve captured them perfectly! Great lines Sabra!

    Hank

  8. I cannot tell you how much I LOVE this poem, and how it lifted me up out of all the gloom, to picture those fairies taking tea in the ferns. I need more fairies in my life. And not just the tooth fairy (inside joke, LOL – I get a rather necessary molar pulled this week which will render me a toothless crone a bit faster than is comfortable for me: Bring on the yogurt and soup, she says, with a weary sigh.)

  9. Rebecca says:

    This is gorgeous. It brings in all the senses-the sound of their songs, the smell the dusty feel of a puff of mushroom spores being released, the twinkle of lights, the tastes of fairy food in a magical picnic. A lot of time when fairies are mentioned it is in a sappy or sentimental nature., but I like how you used the words ‘dark’ and ‘devil’ to avoid that. It brings in a slight sense of danger, and makes her commitment to allowing them in her life seem more unusual and complex. Love it!

Leave a Reply

