Never Go Back

caring communities take time
to listen to concerns
and chat about viable compromises

they make contact
collaborate
and serve for decades

they bring along a new generation
to assure a state of progress
for them, regression is not an option

Written for The Sunday Whirl.  The words are care, community, listen, concerns, collaborate, serve, decades, state, compromising, contact, time, chat.  I used all the words in some form.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Never Go Back

  1. Randy Mazie says:

    Ooh, I like.
    Excellent use of words. Terse. Nice and smooth.
    Great theme – an excellent counterpoint to vivinfrance’s “Hypocrisy and Lies”

    In fact, both poem should show up side-by-side on the same page.

    Randy

  2. Imelda says:

    You are truly good at using words, Sabra. I hope you get to write more often. 🙂 Happy Sunday.

  3. jae rose says:

    We must pick the best things from the past..learn from them and move forward…I think that is a very sound message…along the way we should always be allowed to dance though 😉

  4. I just wish communities would do this. To walk these paths of care.. That’s how we build humanity.

  5. oldegg says:

    You must point me in the direction of this Utopia; I didn’t believe it existed!

  6. Sabra Bowers says:

    I wish I knew where it existed, oldegg. I’d certainly direct you to it. My poem was written to point out what we fail to do, instead of what we do; and of course, to use the wordle words! I enjoyed your visit and comment.

  7. LauraALord says:

    This seems almost dreamlike. I wish I could see things this way. Well done.

  8. humbird says:

    I all for progress but based on love. x

  9. kaykuala says:

    regression is not an option

    That’s the way to move forward. One has to strive so they say. You’ve used all the words! That’s great, Sabra!

    Hank

  10. Kathy says:

    Perfect sentiment to remind me of what I want to accomplish here in San Diego. Thank you Sabra!

  11. Sabra Bowers says:

    So glad you found value in my poem, Kathy. I know you will find or build your niche in San Diego. 🙂

  12. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    The first line of this poem is sort of like a punch in the gut for me: I’m one of those people who doesn’t take time (or enough time) to build a community.

  13. claudia says:

    yes – and i wish we had more communities who see the power and blessings of such a way to deal with each other

  14. Some poems based on Wordles seem forced, as though some words are shoehorned in. This work had none of that nonsense. I hope you are right, Sabra, that the next generation is getting the message about community and group action. I’m getting too old to preach this one, but I’ll still be out there. Amy

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Amy. Sometimes I think the world needs the ones of us who are older to at least mentor and support a young one or two. I’m contemplating the best method for me to accomplish this, and you are correct, it will not be the same way as when I was younger.

  15. Poet Laundry says:

    I think we need more such communities!

Leave a Reply

