Fishing and Swimming with Dwight

we fished from a shaded creek bank

a can for worms, a jar for grasshoppers
and a water bucket for the catch

my younger brother, Dwight
skillfully hooked the wigglers and hoppers

the creek water was cold, deep, and dark
home to tree roots and snakes

but still, we jumped in

our neighbor, Mrs. King
dressed and froze his minnow catches

when there was enough
she held a fish fry for him

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sharing my poem with Red Wolf Poems where I wrote this week’s prompt – to write a poem about a childhood memory.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Fishing and Swimming with Dwight

  1. I adore this! I’m so glad that I caught it in the feed on Facebook. My son, who was seven then, called the minnows that we came across “river-hoppers.”

  2. willow1945 says:

    Very visual and vivid–the tree roots and snakes made my toes curl 🙂

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      They should have made our toes curl, but we were too young to realize the great danger; and there were always snakes around the creeks, rivers, and our farm. Thank you so much for visiting and leaving me a comment.

  3. Irene says:

    This is a vivid poem. It’s a delight to read.

  4. Pingback: Fishing and Swimming with Dwight | aquaverse

  5. zdunno03 says:

    Lovely poem, and with your mınnows, too.

  6. julespaige says:

    Our muddy creek has bass and even though backs up on our yard we still would need a licence to fish it. One year our youngest did catch a nice size one, but we released it. I think our snakes are harmless, but one would have to watch out for the snappers (turtles).

    Lovely to have such a sweet and tasty memory. Thanks for your kind words on my piece.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thanks you for leaving your thoughts, Jules. Snapping turtles…never thought to fear turtles, but now I fear snakes! I would enjoy having a creek, even a muddy one.

  7. brian miller says:

    oh this carries quite the nostalgia for me….there was a creek that ran around my grammas property…i grew up playing in it…and fishing and….smiles.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      I love nostalgia. Maybe it is my age, but no, I think I always did because I love stories. Glad we have creek memories in common. They make good childhood memories. Thanks for stopping by Brian.

  8. claudia says:

    smiles.. love that she collected his catches and what a feast when there was enough caught for a meal… very cool

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      It was a most loving thing to do for him, Claudia. She lived on the farm next to ours and my brother was probably over to her house every day. Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts, Claudia.

  9. Ron. says:

    I’m still a fisherman today, five decades later. But it was better then. Thanks for reminding me.

  10. Imelda says:

    This is so idyllic, Sandra. 🙂

  11. Sweet, Sabra. I remember fishing in Roan’s Creek for horny-heads. Thanks for the memory jog.

  12. Pat says:

    What wonderful memories shared in such a powerful way. Recalls lazy summer days spent lounging about, carefree childhood adventures, waiting for the fish to bite. Lucky you and your brother!

  13. I love the gentle tone of these memories.. I can really see those fishing trips, and what a great bonus to get the dinner as well.. I remember just one fishing trip when we caught anything, and fortunately I never had to eat… That fish was not tasty 😉

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Bjorn, I do gently hold the memory of our fishing. My brother fished alone mostly. But I did occasionally go with him. He also had fish baskets in the creek to catch minnows. I was with him once when he checked the basket and it was filled with little snakes. Scary, even though they were baby snakes. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  14. I had fun trying to imagine where this was. It felt so familiar. Made me think of when I was a Nursing Director in Indianapolis and we got a call from the police that they had found a couple of our patients (Nursing Home) who “escaped.” They were a few blocks away on Pickle Road (gotta love the name) fishing for crappie. I love nostalia, too–and some of us have more memories than others to enjoy. :0>

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Victoria, we were on a farm in northeast Georgia, USA. Oh, I love your story of the escapees going fishing for crappie on Pickle Road. I wish I had a better memory. I like to say I learned well how to live in the now. But truthfully, I long for a better memory. Thanks so much for your visit.

  15. The sparsity of this makes the details that you bring to us so vibrant, Sabra! I love the truly organic feel and the sibling connection there as well. Beautiful writing!!

  16. Grace says:

    I so enjoyed the fishing scene and memories ~ This is a delightful summer activity ~

  17. Miss Stacy says:

    i really enjoyed this glimpse into your childhood. i remember fishing for minnows in the old creek.

    great write!

    stacy lynn mar
    http://warningthestars.blogspot.com/

  18. Poet Laundry says:

    This made me smile..summer and childhood intertwined…delightful.

Leave a Reply

