Charmed Day

wordle22

Charmed Day

soaking up a charmed day
not chopped by the office

but marked by
the spring of rabbits

home-baked almond cookies
and sips of plum wine

grassy steps to a bubbling stream
my dress – the color of lilacs

steaming, belly warming broth
and brie toast

under the first stars of the evening
beside the sparks of a fireplace

falling deep into dreams
of a charmed day

Inspired by Red Wolf Poems’ Wordle #22.Β  The words are in the photo above and I used all twenty-four words in some form.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Charmed Day

  1. Irene says:

    Your poem is full of yumminess. Totally charming. πŸ˜€

  2. willow1945 says:

    So lovely–the perfect day and the perfect poem to commemorate it.

  3. Charmed indeed, Sabra!! Sounds like the perfect day and I love those grassy light steps that you express. Beautifully wordled!

  4. michellepond says:

    I felt like I was right there with you. Beautiful poem.

  5. brian miller says:

    mmm you better be sharing those cookie and a sip of wine…i am just saying…what better place could there be than by a bubbling spring…ah it is so peaceful to me….

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Would be my pleasure to share the cookies and wine, Brian. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the inspiration you share with so many poets. You have the sacred gift of hospitality.

  6. Imelda says:

    That is a charming day indeed, Sabra. I like how you used the words given. You are so good at conjuring poems out of those seemingly disconnected words. πŸ™‚

  7. This IS a charmed day. Wow. I want to order one exactly like it at my house, tomorrow! (I dont think the menu will measure up, somehow, to yours!)

  8. claudia says:

    home-baked almond cookies
    and sips of plum wine….oh..i’m def in for that…smiles
    what a charming day indeed sabra

  9. Grace says:

    A very charming day indeed ~ I specially like:

    home-baked almond cookies
    and sips of plum wine

    Have a wonderful weekend ~

  10. What a perfect day, Sabra. Thank you for sharing it with us and for inspiring me how to enjoy the rest of today.

  11. julespaige says:

    You brought to mind the Thai plum sauce that comes with their veggie egg rolls. Yum. I have yet to have plum vine, but Lemonchello (not that I’ve made it myself) this recipe looks good:

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/limoncello-recipe.html

    We were actually gifted this black tea from Japan. I guess if you let any tea steep long enough it could look like a broth. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by ~Jules

  12. Sabra Bowers says:

    Plum wine is a dessert wine. Yum! This recipe also looks yum, and would knock my socks off, I’m sure. Enjoy your tea, steeped long or not. Enjoyed you visit, Jules. πŸ™‚

  13. Mary Riddle says:

    Charmed, indeed! You put those words together to make a charming poem.

  14. Misky says:

    Completely delicious!!

  15. Poet Laundry says:

    After a day like that I think it would be quite easy to fall into a most contented sleep. Very nice…

  16. Pamela says:

    Sabra, this poem is a delight for all the senses.

    Pamela

  17. well, I like any day that is marked by the spring of rabbits – a perfect day! K

  18. Sabra Bowers says:

    I do, too! Thank you for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  19. Charmed day. A great phrase. Thank you for following my blog. I really like the way your poems describe the scene. Will be reading more.

  20. A great day would be just like that..

  21. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Bjorn. Great to see you back after your vacation from blogging.

  22. Mark Spruill says:

    Sabra,
    It’s dreamy and beautiful, just like those perfect days that come along too rarely.

  23. Kathy says:

    Hmmmmm . . . I’m laying on the grass and looking up into the sky as the clouds form the story of your words. There go the rabbits springing over the bubbling stream. Thank you for this lovely vision Sabra!

Leave a Reply

