Pigeons or Doves

Pigeons or doves
I sometimes wonder

Smiling, I remember
The doves she kept.
The flutter of their wings
And squeak of their cage
Under cover of an open-ended shed.
Do doves mate for life?

Surveying my memory
I can report
She also kept lop eared rabbits
In a waist-high cage
In the shade under tall pines.
Did they yearn for the ground?

Laughing, I remember
We brought two of her rabbits
Home to our backyard.
Even with a latch and brick
On their hatch, we’d find them
Atop the shed.
I was struck by their need for
Height, not ground.

Traveling north, still in memory
My face softens remembering
Rabbit boxes planted in fields.
Rabbit is now priced as a delicacy
At Whole Foods.

Meeting of moments, then and now
I still ask
Pigeons or doves?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Written for The Sunday Whirl.  The words are pigeons, mate, flutter, struck, laugh, smile, face, report, survey, need, meeting, north, treat, squeak.  There are fourteen words this week, instead of twelve.  I used thirteen.

 

 

 

 

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Pigeons or Doves

  1. oldegg says:

    It is amazing how the mind trawls through your memory like a computer to find a match. Sshh! It may have been pigeons on the ark!

  2. Jae Rose says:

    What a lovely tumble down of memory and words..all coming back neatly as a thought to that question..

  3. Misky says:

    We have fields bouncing with those floppy eared rabbits. For some reason, few people want to eat them. My grandmother always stewed up a rabbit for Sunday lunch.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Misky, probably because they are so cute. My dad put a rabbit box in the field when I was growing up. They were not lop eared, but my mother did cook rabbit when he brought one home. Enjoy your fields of bunnies; and thanks for your visit. 🙂

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    So cute that they wanted to be on the shed. I could never eat rabbit… just sayin’…

  5. 1sojournal says:

    Memories can be such good friends, making us smile on a dreary day. Like your rabbits that liked higher ground. When young, we lived across the street from a park. My brother took his bow and arrows over there one day and brought home a rabbit. Dad scolded him, then made him skin it and clean it. We girls didn’t want anything to do with that supper,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2014/05/25/finding-self-again/

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      I am beginning to embrace memories more. I lived in the here and now for years and years, but you are correct, Elizabeth, memories can be good friends. Thanks for sharing your story about your brother and his rabbit hunt. 🙂

  6. Wonderful use of the words.. it’s amazing what a simple question can do to trig the memory.. During the mother my mother had to wear a winter coat made from the rabbits they had kept as pets the summer before.. and yes rabbit I have tasted it’s very good..

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Bjorn. Since you wrote your mother “had” to wear the coat, I can only imagaine how she was feeling. My experience is that rabbit can be delicious depending on the way it is prepared, as is true with all dishes, I guess. Thanks for sharing, Bjorn!

  7. humbird says:

    Good memory, Sabra, and you made me to read about the difference…cheers! :)x

  8. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    At first I imagined rabbit boxes as little coffins for the bunnies, and then I read the comments! O sill me! 😉

  9. kaykuala says:

    Rabbit as a delicacy! They are too cute to think that one savors its meet. Would rather keep them as pets. Wonderful write Sabra!

    Hank

  10. annell4 says:

    Perhaps the question will always persist?

  11. It was fun to follow this reminiscence of imagery. So lovely, Sabra. I am surprised by the rabbits’ love of heights. It also surprises me that Whole Foods offers rabbit as a delicacy. Two years ago, I had a student whose family raised and butchered rabbit for their own sustenance. She spoke of it in a matter-of-fact fashion. Your last stanza is a perfect bow to tie it all together. Well done!

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      I was blow away by their love of heights. Total surprise. Thanks for your visit and glad you enjoyed my walk down memory lane, Brenda. Whole Foods doesn’t always have rabbit, but they do carry it. Hope you are enjoying this long weekend.

  12. Pamela says:

    Very nice memory poem, Sabra. I am sorry for the late visit, but I went into a funk for a couple of days. I am better now. I recieved some wonderful pics of Michael and I in the beginning of our relationship. It really elevated my mood.

    Pamela ox

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Pam. Sorry to hear of your funk, but we know they will come and go. Be with them fully when they visit and release with joy when they go. Lovely news about the photos of you and Michael. Glad they lifted your spirit! Take really good care of you. Virtual hug.

  13. claudia says:

    a neigbor of us keeps doves – or pigeons… in german there’s only one word… and my uncle used to have rabbits as well… when they were fat enough he slaughtered them… i never could eat them… yearning for the ground or need for height… a good question…

  14. Sabra Bowers says:

    It was a hoot to see the rabbits on a shed taller than a person. Kinda unbelievable, but true. I think pigeon is a type of dove; so I understand one word in German. Thanks for your visit, Claudia.

  15. I believe they both make soothing cooing noises – that’s what I like best about pigeons and doves. Your poem is hypnotic in a way as you verse down memory lane, giving a soft cooing sound.

  16. This i really like. Well written, Sabra.

Leave a Reply

