Cemetery Jesus

hawk on the head of
a cemetery Jesus

I imagine he chuckles
at my expectation of a dove

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Linking with dVerse~Poets Pub

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Cemetery Jesus

  1. brian miller says:

    is it jesus chuckling
    or the hawk?

    he moves
    in mysterious ways.

    smiles.

  2. humbird says:

    Mysterious logic of any combination of characters. Our stereotypes of thinking…Playful and short.

  3. billgncs says:

    that was such a good example of how we set expectations and get surprised. Nice.

  4. claudia says:

    haha… i bet he would chuckle… and the things we expect…it is funny at times…and sometimes we limit ourselves with our expectations as well…cool piece sabra

  5. rosross says:

    Made me smile. 🙂

  6. Gabriella says:

    I guess paintings have shaped our expectations. I do not suppose Jesus cares one way or another.

  7. Grace says:

    Short and crisp – I imagine he doesn’t mind at all ~

  8. Mary says:

    I would say Jesus loves all creatures…hawks and doves alike.

  9. jaybluepoems says:

    Interesting image. I can hear him mutter under his voice, nothing sinister, but something quite sarcastic. Nice.

  10. Misky says:

    I often mistake doves for pigeons, but then a bird is a bird is a bird. 🙂

  11. I love this! You could make a whole book out of that term “cemetery Jesus.” So fun!

  12. Wonder if the hawk ate the dove.. hmmm –

  13. Gay says:

    Very deft and clever. Words and philosophy play off each here in an almost haiku kind of way. Kudos!

  14. wolfsrosebud says:

    it was a salt and pepper poem for me

  15. Poet Laundry says:

    Ha! Probably was a Seahawk…says the girl from Seattle. 😉 I agree, clever piece. Enjoyed this, Sabra!

  16. poetrypea says:

    I expect he does chuckle.
    Ciao

    Pea

Leave a Reply

