A Song

I want a song
to steal my heart away

a song for morning
to help me greet the day

at noon, a melody
for dancing blues away

a chant for evening
to lull and tuck away

the entire scale is needed
to take me through the day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Linking with dVerse~Poets Pub for the first time.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poet, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to A Song

  1. Ah, I think there is truth here–I sure need the whole scale–and maybe many of them!

  2. I like this! I love the idea of a song to get me through the day.

  3. jaybluepoems says:

    Jazz… you need ever colour of jazz.. nice poem.

  4. Mary says:

    In other words, it would be nice to have a song (or poem) for the different times in one’s life. I especially like the last stanza, picturing the scale taking one through an entire day!

    Nice to see you here in dVerse, Sabra!

  5. I want one of those songs too. Enjoyed this.!

  6. brian miller says:

    smiles…music is a part of my life for sure…and each part of the day has a different flavor…i def need a wide range soundtrack….happy tuesday sabra

    curious, where is the name sabra from…

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Happy Tuesday to you, Brian. So glad to see you here. My name is used in many areas of the world, at the moment, especially the Middle East. My ancestors are from Europe and there is a legend from our culture about a Prince Sabra. My mother saw Sabra in a comic and liked it so much she gave me the name. I appreciate your blog visit and comment. 🙂

  7. Well done I like the sentiments you express.

  8. kkkkaty says:

    Music sustains us…I like your take 😉

  9. Oh, we all need one of those songs. And possibly someone to sing it to us.

  10. Misky says:

    Ah yes, an entire scale for a day. Perfect!

  11. kaykuala says:

    You have about made it Sabra! That’s the way to go and being happy all day is a breeze! Wonderful write!

    Hank

  12. annell4 says:

    A wonderful piece, I ran with you across the keys…I like the music you wove. I have long studied the hours of the day, several times it has been the basis for a series of work.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Love that you ran with me across the keys, Annell. Maybe I will see you work on the hours of the day; is it writing or art? Thank you so much for your visit and comment. 🙂

  13. claudia says:

    i so understand this… honestly…i sing and hum all day… sometimes inventing melodies…sometimes i sing those that exist already and fit my mood…i couldn’t live without music…

  14. Grace says:

    The entire scale of music, that is beautiful ~ And nice to meet you at D’verse ~

  15. Oh yes, some days we do need the entire scale to see us through! I really enjoyed this – it was musical in itself!

  16. To sing the day.. What a nice thought.. And to have the whole scale available…

  17. Pamela says:

    I want that song to get me through the day, Sabra. Lovely piece.

    Pamela

  18. Kathy says:

    Love, Love, Love this poem! I am right there with you every day. Music is passion of the soul!

    Kathy

  19. Gabriella says:

    I like the idea that each circumstance of our lives has a corresponding song. Lovely poem!

Leave a Reply

