Purge

My word is purge.  Yes, I’ve chosen a word for the year.  Purge will help me focus on clearing things, and creating space for more beauty and more creative energy.

IMG_0001I have tons of files and paper I want to clear.  I still need to clear all my late husband’s files (4 large filing cabinets).  They must be shredded, but I keep thinking I will go through them.  Why?  I don’t know.  Maybe I think I will find something personal to hold onto.  January 21st will be seven years.  It is time to clear!

I am also a book lover and collector.  I wonder if I can release some books?  Well, if I can’t bring myself to release them this year, maybe I can organize them.  Yes, that feels better.

Choosing a word to focus on also feels a lot better to me than making a resolution.  I’m not vowing to do this or that thing; I’m simply focusing my attention on the word purge.  I can do it.  Yes, I can.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Essay, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Purge

  1. Great word. Mine is “Move.” Yesterday, I ‘moved’ some paper off my writing desk and ended up cleaning out two drawers. Then I ‘moved’ some books out of my bookcase and took them to my writing group last night to share them with my friends. I love the 1 word intentions. I’ll ‘move’ on now, 🙂

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Move is a great word, Mona. You are dipping into the movement of the Universe, because everything is moving. I’m loving the one word intention, too. So glad you moved by here and left me a comment. 🙂

      • Sabra, I absolutely love your statement “dipping into the movement of the Universe.” I have to share this with my writing group (they all picked words last night at our group).

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Mona, what fun that you have a group to share about your word. Love it!

Leave a Reply

