Christmas Night

in a Christmas night sky
the moon dusts winter trees
with steel-silver light

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My first time to write for We Write Poems.ย  I didn’t use all the words, but these three lines express it for me.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Christmas Night

  1. mariyakoleva says:

    I like the idea of moon dusting trees ๐Ÿ™‚ It gives some comic relief to the solemn feeling.

  2. I like the image you created of the “moon dusts winter trees”.
    Happy New Year!

  3. neil reid says:

    hi. thanks for coming to play with us at wwp. yep, no question, that second line does attract attention. nice. wondering (is gentle wondering allowed?) about that term “steel-silver”, how might it engender something more, more surprising perhaps. (just by way of a silly example… “steel-spoon light”?) (forgive me thinking out loud) again, good to see you here. ~neil

  4. Sabra Bowers says:

    Hi Neil. Gentle wondering always allowed. I was going for a cold, hard light with the term steel-silver. Thank you for reading my poem and taking the time to leave me a comment. Much appreciated. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: WHEN MORNING CAME « MY WALL

  6. Sabra Bowers says:

    I’m not exactly sure how pingbacks work. Imelda, glad my post allowed you to find We Write Poems. It was also my first time to write with them. You did a beautiful job with the wordle.

  7. Mark Spruill says:

    Sabra,

    Beautiful and simple. Perfection in three lines.

    Mark

  8. stimmyabby says:

    Love internal rhyme. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Robin says:

    I really do love this.

  10. Beautiful use of the words — and welcome to WWP.

    -Nicole

  11. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Nicole, for your welcome and comment on my poetry. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

