It is the time of year for Christmas Revelry. If you want to.

This is a beautiful, heartfelt post on a blog I follow daily. I don’t want
to forget it, so I’m reblogging. May you all spend Christmas in a way that gives you comfort and peace. I’m growing toward that goal a little more each year.
Later,
Sabra

thekitchensgarden

For many, many years I spent Christmas Day alone. Quite happily. I counted to thirteen Christmas mornings waking up in an empty house then I stopped counting. My children always spent Christmas with their beloved Grandmother my ex husbands mother. This was our tradition – a good one too. And I had a project every Christmas Day, usually in my darkroom. Then I ate my dinner and watched movies that I had  rented from the video store down the road.  And that was my lovely Christmas day.

And slowly my Christmas spirit leached out, a tiny bit at a time, it lay about on the floor for a while creeping out with a sly dry  ‘what about me’ sigh every year but eventually I brushed its desiccated body up with my special brush and shovel and stored it in one of those secret boxes in my mind. The little jewelled…

View original post 768 more words

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It is the time of year for Christmas Revelry. If you want to.

  1. Mary Riddle says:

    A beautifully written piece; thank you. I won’t say “Merry Christmas,” but I’ll wish you a serene, peaceful holiday.

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Love seeing you here, Mary. Yes, Celi is a wonderful writer and a dedicated blogger. Her blog is one of the first things I read in the morning, before work usually. Thank you for the holiday wish; and I wish the very same for you. See you after the New Year.

  3. Veronica Roth says:

    I also read Celi’s blog almost every day and loved this entry. Merry Christmas Sabra, my friend, and warm happiness for the holiday season. Much love form me to you. 🙂

  4. Sabra Bowers says:

    It is beautifully written and resonates on several counts. Merry Christmas to you, Veronica. May the next week and a half be a blessed one for you. Love and big virtual hug to you!

Leave a Reply

