Shuttle to Destiny

pulverize those yes-buts
don’t listen to them for a split second

let I-can-do-it
echo loud and clear

attend to your thoughts
follow your heart

fly by the seat of your pants
but with a level head

mean everything you say
keep your soul intact

let go and shuttle to your destiny
quiet as a spider

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Written for The Sunday Whirl.  The words this week:  spider, echo, clear, level, attend, pulverize, intact, fly, shuttle, means, follow, listen, split.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Shuttle to Destiny

  1. The yes-buts are a blot on humanity, true enough.

  2. I really like how you used the wordle words! Good inspiration here – not quiet all my yes- buts!

  3. oldegg says:

    While I agree with all of these I usually just follow my heart.

  4. annell4 says:

    You have given good advice and I like ‘quiet as a spider,’ they are very quiet. I never thought about that, and I think they are also very polite. When you catch sight of them, they almost seem to apologize for distrubing.

  5. Sabra Bowers says:

    Well, I’d never thought of how they seem to apologize for disturbing, but I think you are right about that. Thanks for your visit and comment, Annell.

  6. Jae Rose says:

    The end line really hits home how this must be done..quietly..resolutely..always the best..

  7. I like this very much … a nice flow to it …

  8. julespaige says:

    Quietly and resolutely…we might have to change our plans, without yes-buts.
    But because other people are always interacting with the webs we try to lace…

    I do remember my first attempts at saying ‘No…no, thanks’ it gets easier with time. But when you are responsible for other and elder family members, sometimes your plans have to change, especially without whimpering.

    I do plan on a story verse. Thanks for visiting the non-story verse. Happy New Year! ~Jules

  9. veronicabalfourpaul says:

    Short and to the point. Full of good advice. Love it.

  10. daphnepurpus says:

    So true and for me, so hard to do. Thanks for the inspiration!

  11. Claudsy says:

    Wonderful message, Sabra. So glad to see it this morning. Thank you.

  12. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Claudsy. And thanks for letting me know. 🙂

  13. Mark Spruill says:

    Sabra,

    I love it. Especially the last line.

    Merry Christmas.

    Mark

  14. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Mark. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  15. humbird says:

    Very inspiring! ~ I like ‘let I-can-do-it
    echo loud and clear” the best!

  16. 1sojournal says:

    Always good advice no matter the season. May your holiday be a happy one,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/12/22/looming-leveler/

  17. Pamela says:

    Sabra, love, love the last two stanzas. They are perfect. Happy holidays to you! ox

    Pamela

  18. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you so much, Pamela. Happy holidays to you, too! 🙂

  19. I enjoyed this poem. Clever use of the words.

  20. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you for your visit and comment. So glad you liked it. 🙂

  21. nicely done. I like the last line

  22. claudia says:

    whew…that was just so exactly what i needed to hear…so thank you… and wishing you a peaceful christmas sabra…

  23. Sabra Bowers says:

    Glad it was meaningful for you, Claudia. Also glad to see you here. Merry and peaceful Christmas to you.

Leave a Reply

