Lies and Angels

cover your mouth
don’t box yourself in with lies

told on this red clay hill
under this silver moon

simply know that
a pair of angels follow you

one of protection; the other of death
smile and wave to them both

know that death could
snatch you apart at any moment

know that some things
can’t be fixed later

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Written for The Sunday Whirl.  The words this week are fix, apart, snatch, cover, pair, angel, waves, simple, box, clay, lies, moon.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Lies and Angels

  1. Veronica Roth says:

    Very lovely Sabra. Nice way to describe the ephemeral quality of life. Well done. 🙂

  2. I hope the one of protection stays closer than the other angel!

  3. Mark Spruill says:

    Sabra,

    I like this. It makes me think.

    Trying to live life smilin’ and wavin’,

    Mark

  4. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Mark. You do a great job of living life smilin’ and wavin’.

  5. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Those angels…my constant companions…well, yes, why not just wave at them and be done with it?

    I really like this uncluttered poem. In its sparseness, truth shines.

    A Wordle Whiff of Christmas

  6. barbara_y says:

    I like this attitude. Yep, smile and wave, ’cause done is done.

  7. drpkp says:

    from first to last line a sweet plea for authenticity and for living life … lovely

  8. I like the idea of two angels! I take them both!

  9. Misky says:

    I think I’ll start waving now … Wonderful poem, Sabra.

  10. There is profound truth in that last couplet, Sabra. I’m glad you are whirling this week. 😉

  11. Robin says:

    It’s so amazing to create such a powerful, visual poem in so few words. You are so talented. I really love it.

  12. Jae Rose says:

    Succinctly and boldly written..also seemed to fit in with the horizon on your blog banner

  13. I’m so glad you visited me … you are a beautiful writer … wonderful wordsmithing …

  14. Dawn says:

    Sabra I love it! I hear Rod Serling…On cold winter night In Georgia……. Awesome Miss Sabra! =)

  15. Marianne says:

    Deep and powerful write!

  16. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Marianne. I’m grateful for you visit.

  17. Oooh, you are an inspiration…even when you are cloaked in somber tones. You are nudging me closer to Whirling with you one of these Sundays.

  18. Old Egg says:

    A dark piece but so true.

  19. i love the reminder at the end -some things can’t be fixed later -if only we all lived with that in mind

  20. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you so much for leaving me a comment. Yes, I wish I lived always with that in mind.

  21. 1sojournal says:

    Beautiful in its simplicity while baring truth of our existence. The balance between dark and light, and your final line is perfect.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/12/15/in-need-of-a-fix/

  22. Mr. Walker says:

    Spare, but rich – a good use of the wordle words. I like the two angels – and that last stanza is just right.

    Richard

Leave a Reply

