Amalgam

Sunday Whirl 10-20-13tree limb shadows remind her
of
octopus tentacles

she likes everything balanced
tight
like a stack of bricks

she thinks prairies should be
fence free

nothing makes her madder
than a cheat’s mouth talking trash

except maybe the amalgamย 
of trash and gravel she noticed
on the vacant lot at the end of her street

Written for The Sunday Whirl.ย  The words this week are amalgam, gravel, trash, nothing, cheat, vacant, brick, mouth, tentacles, fence, notices, everything, balance.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Amalgam

  1. “A cheat’s mouth talking trash” really gets my ire up, too. Words well played, Sabra!

  2. Mishla says:

    clean and telling.

  3. seingraham says:

    Agree with Brenda…wordle words well used, especially the “cheat’s mouth talking trash” – ire raising in my camp as well. Good poem.

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2013/10/notice-how-nothing-nohow.html

  4. I could see the limbs in the night as tentacles! I think a street looking like that would make me pretty mad too!

  5. Amy says:

    I can’t figure out which line I like the most. Well-done, Sabra.

  6. Irene says:

    Like how you end it.

  7. joyweesemoll says:

    Nice work! I’m impressed with “amalgam” — that was a tough one but the character in your poem seems just the sort to use the word in that way.

  8. Personality of a “she” so well engraved in your words. ๐Ÿ™‚
    -HA

  9. oldegg says:

    No, the cheats mouth is definitely worse, but I agreed with the first four.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      I tend to agree with you, oldegg, but I had to have the piece flow and it flowed better with this ending. You know how we poets are with the flow of things. I appreciate your visit and comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Gillena Cox says:

    nice response

    much love….

  11. Misky says:

    Totally agree that the prairie should be fence-free!!

  12. jae rose says:

    Good open spaces certainly shouldn’t be fenced in or trashed – right there with you on that!

  13. 1sojournal says:

    Your descriptive phrases build a clear image of her personality…someone I’d like.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/10/20/balance-point/

  14. Nicely done, Sabra. I like how the repetition: “She likes…” etc. ties in the stanza to create a cohesive whole.

  15. I love this one. I can relate entirely to every single word

Leave a Reply

