The Prophet

The Prophet

lead by a thundering prophet

the born-again bind together
in a circle on the edge of a sleepy vale

they expect to mend the sick
and speak in other-worldly tongues

not knowing it isn’t in their cards
they are taken with a trump

the prophet is a drunk

Written for The Sunday Whirl.Ā  The words this week are edge, trumps, drunkard, world, mends, binds, prophet, born, expected, circles, sleepy, thunder.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Prophet

  1. Imelda says:

    What a sad truth you wrote here. Excellent use of a few words. šŸ™‚

  2. annell says:

    So interesting to me, you knew my friend.

  3. Laurie Kolp says:

    Now that’s a surprise.

  4. Pamela says:

    Oh the deception and how deep it runs. Excellent poem here, Sabra.

    Pamela

  5. julespaige says:

    This reminds me of all the fire and brimstone preachers, snake oil salesmen of the old west. Though it is also very apt for the modern day. Drunk doesn’t have to have anything to do with alcohol. As some who ‘lead’ are drunk with ego.

    Thanks for your visit. The idea to write stories for each spy was great. And well you see where that lead. šŸ™‚

  6. howanxious says:

    Great play of words… and the ending is just perfect.
    -HA

  7. 1sojournal says:

    Duplicity seems to be a commonality in the human condition. The words do take us to strange places and that is half the fun…

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/circles-within-circles/

  8. Sabra Bowers says:

    Yes, duplicity is part of our human condition. I do enjoy when the works take me to places I never expected. Thanks for your visit and comment, Elizabeth.

  9. Jae Rose says:

    Beware false prophets indeed!

  10. Sabra Bowers says:

    Jules, thanks for the links. You had not mentioned your flash fiction blog. I followed and hope to read in the future. At this point, The Sunday Whirl is the only prompt that works for me. I work full-time, live alone (which means if it is going to get done, I’ve got to do it) so I have precious little time for writing. It takes a couple of days of free time for me to have my muse settle in to allow me to write about my life, feelings, and thoughts. But when I have Brenda’s 12 words, it seems I already have a head start to some surprising place to write about or to write from.

  11. daphnepurpus says:

    Love the ending! Nice!

  12. Robyn says:

    Sometimes you’ve got to keep an eye even on the ones in charge!

  13. Old Egg says:

    It is funny that the prompt words often take you down dark lanes that you hadn’t intended. The journey can be quite exciting and reveal truths that the writer was not aware of.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Yes, if the writer allows the words to lead. Well, I don’t know that I think it funny, but I do find it interesting to see the characters that develop. I have a dear friend who is a marvelous writer of dark short stories. Her characters stick with me (I’m in a small writing group with her), so maybe I’ve learned to also create dark characters. Thank you for your visit and comment, Oldegg.

  14. Irene says:

    Like the revelation!

  15. drpkp says:

    Dear Sabra – the words led us down a very similar path – Greatly enjoyed this one šŸ™‚

  16. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thanks for your visit, Pearl. I enjoyed your poem, as well. I look forward to seeing you around the web. šŸ™‚

  17. Wonderful writing! Glad I found your blog!!

    doggy tales

  18. I love this. Especially the born again and the sleepy vale. I have found most of the born again to be asleep at the wheel

  19. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Does his being a drunk diminish his ability to prophesy? I don’t know. I’m wondering…

    My Sunday Whirl

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      I wonder too. My guess is that it does not. He has probably said the same thing many times. šŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting and leaving me a comment. I enjoyed your haiku, as always.

  20. Strong piece. The first time I read it, it made me laugh. Then I read it again, and thought about some of my former students. They attended a youth group where they reported that they could “speak in tongues.” My ignorance of that practice, made me fear charlatans selling ideas to vulnerable young people. Your poem brought that up again. Beware of drunk and/or false prophets. I’m glad you are whirling with us. šŸ™‚

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Brenda. I love whirling with you. I have several friends also whirling, but they don’t blog. Nevertheless, they find working with the words stimulating. One does blog and has done a whirl or two, but hasn’t decided to link with us. So The Sunday Whirl is spreading as I’m sure you know. Yes, beware of drunk/false prophets. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

