Secrets

Sunday Whirl 129

Secrets

under blinking neon stars
she saw by chance
a nest of ripe secrets
cleverly swept into a basket
by a fleshy hand
Whose?

Written for The Sunday Whirl Brenda’s chosen words for us this week are above my poem, Secrets.

I asked my daughter if she liked the poems I wrote for The Sunday Whirl.  She said yes, and one reason was because I used words I would not normally use.  She is correct; and I would add, it allows me to write poems I would not normally write…a different kind of poem.  Thank you, Brenda.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Secrets

  1. annell says:

    How wonderful and concise! As a child I loved to sweet…so it is mine own.

  2. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    “Whose?” could lead to another delightful poem, if you let it!

  3. I love the images of ‘blinking neon stars’ and ‘ripe nest of secrets.’ Beautiful poem.

  4. Oooh I like the image of an “nest of ripe secrets” a poem tightly packed filled to bursting. 🙂

  5. julespaige says:

    There is a challenge using words lists. And I like what you have done.
    As per your suggestion/request I have added another tale from one of the ‘spies’
    http://julesstorypageswhirl.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/c5-on-becoming-men-sunday-whirl-129/

  6. Those are the reasons I like the Sunday whirl as well.

  7. I love the nest of ripe secrets, Sabra, and I love that you write for the Whirl. May the words continue bringing sweet pieces like this to your fingertips. 🙂

  8. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Brenda, for your visit and all three comments. I’m embracing them and claiming future sweet pieces. 🙂

  9. Jae Rose says:

    Effortlessly done..the antithesis of horror.. 😉

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you for your visit, Joe Rose. From your comment, I assume you got mine on your blog. I wasn’t sure because my comment seemed to disappear. My poem was effortless done, but I’m not sure that is a good thing. 🙂

  10. daphnepurpus says:

    Wonderful!! I really enjoyed this and your daughter is right–great use of the words in an unusual way. I too love The Sunday Whirl for the challenge to find new meanings in the words.

  11. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Daphne. Yes, it is a fun challenge to see if a poem comes from the list. When I first read them, I think…no way…but the second time I look, something always comes.

  12. Mishla says:

    oh I like this one …intriguing and fun.

  13. Sabra, I agree with your daughter. Your wordle is so well orchestrated it’s difficult to compare. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

  14. oldegg says:

    I have to agree with everyone but most of all I loved your daughter’s observation…how valuable this must be for you.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, oldegg. My daughter likes poetry and will occasionally give me feedback. She doesn’t live near me, so we don’t talk poetry much. But I value her comments and feedback when she gives it. Yes, writing with you all for The Sunday Whirl is an expander of my creative mind. I always enjoy reading your poems and comments. 🙂

  15. WabiSabi says:

    Oh I love the mystery… in the nest of secrets and the final question! More please!

  16. howanxious says:

    Yes… whose!? A lovely write.
    -HA

  17. toasterpoet says:

    Lovely sense of mystery here, and “a nest of ripe secrets” is an awesome line!

  18. Veronica Roth says:

    Lovely, loved it Sabra. I can never do concise! I’m just too big a blabbermouth but love it when I can read such a creative, crisp poem. Nicely done. 🙂

  19. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you bunches, Veronica. So glad to see you here. I think you are concise when you allow your photograph to share the post with you. 🙂

  20. Sharon Grantley says:

    Love your “nest of ripe secrets”….the feel of it in my mouth…nice!

  21. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Sharon. Very glad to see you here. 🙂

  22. Ooh, I love the sense of the ripe secrets. Glad you’re doing this and challenging yourself!

  23. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Jennifer. That seems to be everyone’s favorite line. Much success with your new book! Appreciate your visit and comment.

  24. hypercryptical says:

    Brilliantly done!
    Anna :o]

  25. Irene says:

    Whose, she asks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

