Ghosts

The Mountain

Ghosts

do ghosts gather
on patches of hillside
where bees swarm

do they gather
at the edges of your mind
unbidden

does the Holy Ghost
commune with those
in worship

can you allow for
a ghostly spill in your
exacting, sharply focused life

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Written for The Sunday Whirl.  The words this week are ghosts, exact, patches, gathered, worship, spill, unbidden, hillside, where, swarm, edges, sharp.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Photography, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Ghosts

  1. Oh, you are making me want to come play. But I think I’ll start trying my hand at these and posting them on my Google + author page. They don’t fit the theme of my refashioned (and as yet unpublished) blog.

  2. drpkp says:

    Ooooh Sabra I love the image of a “ghostly spill” – tight and vibrant I love this 🙂

  3. No, not really but I can enjoy you writing about it!

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    Love where you went with these words, Sabra… the Holy Ghost.

  5. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Ghostly questions! I especially like how you brought the Holy Ghost into the mix, as if that divine presence might somehow be as startling (as well it might be!) as other phantoms.

  6. julespaige says:

    Ghost seem to play a great deal within the fantasy of men. I wonder if Ghosts ever sit around campfires and tell tales of their lives?

    I like how you focused in on Ghosts! Thanks for your visit.

  7. My life is full of ghosts, and not sharply focused. 😉 I love the images here, and the questioning nature of the piece.

  8. Sabra Bowers says:

    Jules, I like it when the old wisdom and new science tell us the same information. 🙂

  9. Stan Ski says:

    Yes to three of them 😉

  10. Claudsy says:

    Really nice, Sabra. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

  11. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Claudsy. Always nice to see you here. 🙂

  12. Jae Rose says:

    Always room.. succinctly magical..

  13. Veronica Roth says:

    Beautiful! I love the thought of unfocused ghosts in my life. (If only they’d do the dishes) 🙂

  14. Mary Riddle says:

    like it a lot, especially the last stanza and the last line

  15. Pamela says:

    In life most of carry many ghosts with us. Nice, Sabra.

    Pamela

  16. 1sojournal says:

    Like your questioning approach, starting at a distance, yet moving to the personal by the end. We all have ghosts of one sort or another,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/09/29/chasing-figments/

  17. Irene says:

    The last stanza is haunting.

  18. oldegg says:

    I think there is always room for otherworldness. Even without realizing it we are searching for answers and will always clutch at ghosts.

  19. great poem. It really made me think. I don’t believer that a holy ghost communes with worshipers but perhaps they do.

  20. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you for your visit and for leaving me a comment. Glad you enjoyed the poem. I’ve not had that particular experience, but I know worshipers who say they have. I agree…perhaps they do. 🙂

  21. Mishla says:

    haunting with a thread of spirituality.

  22. Anna :o] says:

    Excellent use of the words – nothing forced at all. Well done.
    Anna :o]

  23. Mishla says:

    Well done Sabra. Enjoyed the last line.

  24. love the sounds here, clever use of words and ..ghosts…

  25. claudia says:

    can you allow for
    a ghostly spill in your
    exacting, sharply focused life…. good question there in the end… i def. think the spirit finds room to communicate even if the life is busy and tightly filled… i’m glad he does..smiles

  26. Great poem. I like that term “ghostly spill.”

Leave a Reply

