Inertia

Sunday Whirl 8-18-13~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Inertia

nestled in degrees of pain

she hit the floor

seeing visions of years when

her heart was persuaded to stay

if only she’d dreamed

this period of self-neglect,

but the space in time was

real and was now

a bitter tribute to inertia

~~~~

Written for The Sunday Whirl. The words this week were floor, heart, stay, dreamed, persuaded, period, degrees, space, nestled, if, vision, and tribute.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Inertia

  1. inertia is a coy mistress…dangerous and sly

  2. lilystrange says:

    I can relate. I lived with an improperly diagnosed mental illness for many years. I’m still trying to patch up my life from poor decisions made during that time.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Lily, I do hope you make swift progress with patching-up. Every last one of us has made poor decisions and will continue to make them. I wish you many good things and fun experiences. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for leaving me a comment!

  3. Lovely, Sabra! Melancholic and lovely!
    ‘visions of years when / her heart was persuaded to stay’ …

  4. Stan Ski says:

    And there was me feeling a little smug about spending most of the day doing… nothing in particular 🙂

  5. WabiSabi says:

    Oh this poem spoke to me so strongly! I’m going out for a brisk walk!! Thank you!

  6. Mishla says:

    A wise poem indeed. Well done!

  7. 1sojournal says:

    Inertia can be so many things, wearing so many faces: depression, a necessary time for healing, or an inability to make choices caused by fear, doubt, or other things. However, you describe her well and some of the consequences of courting her.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/dreaming-wisdom/

  8. daphnepurpus says:

    I found your poem to be poignant and powerful. I understand too well about the power of inertia. Well spoken!

  9. oldegg says:

    Inertia is a cunning bedfellow as you get older. A sneaky little beguiler when you know you haven’t time for her (or him).

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Yes, indeed! I think the little beguiler could take up residence with me, if I allowed. She/he is one of the reasons I continue to go to a job every day. I appreciate your visit and comment. 🙂

  10. Pamela says:

    Beautifully written, Sabra.

    Pamela

  11. kaykuala says:

    but the space in time was
    real and was now

    Yes, one never realized it but it moves. Nicely Sabra!

    Hank

  12. Inertia, procrastination,..not much poems about it…familiar, hear you…some hope seems in observing, realizing, embracing…look and next step – an action ~ thanks for visiting my blog…cheers 🙂

  13. Irene says:

    A wonderful response, Sabra.

  14. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Inertia is one of my besetting sins too. God help me if all I have to show for it in the end is a bitter tribute!

  15. Mark Spruill says:

    Sabra,
    I like it. It has a sort of whimsical poignancy.

    Mark

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Mark. I love that you thought of it that way. The poem isn’t exactly autobiographical, but I have had my share of inertia…just not the bitterness I could have had with it. Enjoyed hearing from you.

  16. claudia says:

    sometimes we wish we had made different decisions.. good to face what we got at the moment and from there on make room for new paths as well..

  17. julespaige says:

    This reminds me of someone I know…They choose to be far from family and stay with the familiar that is around them. Change is difficult though at any particular moment in time.

    Well done. Thanks for your visit to my last story installment. I haven’t gotten to this weeks yet. Just a tad behind on everything. With summer ending routines change.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Jules, the familiar has a strong hold. Also habit. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving me your thoughts. I admire that you are able to write your long running piece with the whirl words.

Leave a Reply

