Yielding

IMG

Once a month, I meet with three or four writer friends for dinner and sharing our work.  We decided to give ourselves a prompt for next month and Becky (writes like a female Stephen King and started our group) chose the prompts for this coming month.  I decided to write to the prompt Black and Sunrise.  The photo is one I took at sunrise on St. Simons Island off the coast of Georgia, a southern state in the USA.

Yielding

I’ve seldom observed the black of night yield to sunrise.

More often I’ve experienced day turn to night.

What I’ve observed is this:

When darkness yields or advances, it does so

in almost unnoticed gradations of grey…

like a slowly, slowly turned dimmer switch.

This turning leaves us softly embraced

by darkness and the healing rest of night;

or roused by the healing light and aliveness of day.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yielding

  1. claudsy says:

    Lovely, Sabra. Poignant and soothing.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you so much, Claudsy. Your comments mean a lot to me because I admire your writing. Very good to see you here. 🙂

      • claudsy says:

        You’re more than welcome, Sabra. I’m glad that you like what I write. But you have a wonderful writing style of your own. I like this page of yours, too.

  2. boltoncarley says:

    The idea of a dinner switch is perfect! Never thought of it that way.

  3. drpkp says:

    Lovely Sabra – there is something to think about in why we more often see the dimming of light rather than the receding darkness .

  4. I love the use of dimmer switch! Perfect – and a fresh perspective. Nice poem.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you so much, Linda. I sat in my backyard once and really observed the changing of day to night. It reminded me of a dimmer switch and I’ve never forgotten that experience.

  5. claudia says:

    i like the dimmer switch image and softly embraced
    by darkness and the healing rest of night… so soothing…. very cool on meeting with your friends as well to talk about each others work… i would love to have something like this over here

Leave a Reply

