Memorial on Buford Highway

IMGIMG_0002In my small suburban town, Memorial Day,  July 4th, and Veterans Day,  bring flag lined streets.  One morning a few years back, on my way to work, I had a moving experience driving one of those streets…later, I wrote this poem.

 Memorial on Buford Highway

Once still flags begin to wave as cars drive through the flag lined street. 

In my mind’s eye, I see old soldiers standing at attention and saluting something I cannot see. 

As I continue driving past the long rows of flags and imagined soldiers, my eyes fill with tears. 

I nod my head ever so slightly in recognition, and to honor their necessary and unnecessary sacrifices.

 My father in World War II

My brother in Vietnam 

As I leave behind the rows of flags and imagined soldiers, I sense there is a wisdom that comes with long death, much like the wisdom that comes with long life.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Memorial on Buford Highway

  1. bookendings says:

    Beautiful, Sabra!

  2. Thanks to your father for his service and your brother’s. My father and brother are also vets. Touching tribute, Sabra.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you to your father and brother. My father and bother lived to become veterans, but both have now passed away. Thank you for reading my poem and leaving me a comment. Have a pleasant holiday.

  3. stanalei15 says:

    Beautiful, Sabra. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

