Soup Sunday

107

I had planned to go to the North Georgia mountains today to visit friends I’ve not seem in a long time.  But we are having much-needed rain, along with not needed flooding, so I will stay in town and see a friend for lunch and an afternoon movie.  Since Soup Sunday was on my mind, I decided to use the Sunday Whirl words to write a poem about the White’s Soup Sunday monthly gathering. 

Soup Sunday

 

Messages sent out

no dressing up

no spit and polish

it’s a red bandana

and lucky charm kind of day.

 

Count on it

music will be pulsing

from the front porch

where a thousand songs

deserving thunderous applause

have been sung or played.

 

You’ll be greeted by

warm hugs from friends

made-from-scratch soup

and delicious homemade bread.

Place your side dish or dessert

on the table or buffet .

 

Where is this gathering, you ask?

I say, Soup Sunday

up on Buzzard Mountain.

~~~~~~~~~~

Written with the twelve words offered by The Sunday Whirl.  If you are a poet/writer, join Brenda’s fun each week.  I also recommend her blog undercaws

 

 

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Soup Sunday

  1. annell4 says:

    I would like to go for sure! Sounds like fun!

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Always fun Annell. Great to see you here.

  3. Jae Rose says:

    Yes – sounds like a great place to meet and make merry!

  4. nan says:

    This one has joie de vivre – for sure! Love it.

  5. Sabra Bowers says:

    Yes, it is joyful living on that day. I think the hosts practice joyful living year round. Great to see you here, Nan.

  6. Can I reserve a table?!

  7. brenda w says:

    Yum yum! This sound like delicious food and fun. Nice work with the words, Sabra. You make me want to sing on the porch with the rest of the bunch.

  8. WabiSabi says:

    Your poem , brought me right to the front porch! Soup Sunday sounds like an old-fashioned good time!! 🙂 My First Whirl

  9. Kathy Meenach says:

    Now that is my kind of party! Give me a porch . . . good food . . . good conversation and great friends.

  10. Cathy says:

    Great poem, however what trouble are we getting into after the soup is done 😉

  11. Old Egg says:

    This sounds really inviting. Wish I could be there. Are the buzzards still circling?

  12. Sabra Bowers says:

    Always in the area and often circling. Thanks for stopping by Old Egg. Wish you could be there, too.

  13. Pamela says:

    Sabra, lovely story poem. I particularly like this;
    “it’s a red bandana
    and lucky charm kind of day.”

    Pamela

  14. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thanks, Pamela. Some of the words were a little hard to work into the story poem, but managed to fit them all in. Thanks for leaving me a comment.

Leave a Reply

