Resigned

104 Sunday WhirlResigned

No longer skeptical

and with a slight sigh,

she resigned to unwind tonight.

Tomorrow she would be

the ninth to cross the threshold.

Tomorrow she must remain

in control and bold.

She had often thought

of the day the sword of might

would saturate the ground

with her blood.

Written for the two year anniversary of The Sunday Whirl which I only recently found.  Through my participation, a couple of my poet friends now also write these Whirls, but they don’t blog and so don’t share on The Sunday Whirl blog.  Last Friday night we each read (at the Phoenix and Dragon Bookstore) the poem we had written for a particular Whirl.  I’d not previously read or heard their poems (they had seen mine on my blog), so I was delighted, along with the others at the open mic, to hear the three takes on Brenda Warren’s  (creator of The Sunday Whirl) choice of words.  Fun! Fun!

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Resigned

  1. nan says:

    Wow! Great use of the words. Powerful write!

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you so much, Nan. Really appreciate your visit. Off to find lunch and will visit your blog. Can’t wait.

  3. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    To her life we could add this signature: The End.

    A Dozen Whirls

  4. Stan Ski says:

    Eat, drink and be merry…

  5. Pamela says:

    Sabra, I like how you used the words. I also love the story about your poetry buddies.

    Pamela

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Pamela. It was a fun evening. One of the poets read a poem about someone’s bookcase as a way to know them. The poem was so interesting that we decided to all write a poem about someone’s bookcase for our next open mic. Thanks so much for leaving me a comment. 🙂

  6. brenda w says:

    How cool! Thank you for sharing this Sabra. Open mic is a great place to whirl words. I appreciate your work, and am so happy you found us at the Whirl. You are part of our community.

  7. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you for your warm welcome, Brenda. I think you’ve created a wonderfully creative community and I’m proud to take part.

  8. Veronica Roth says:

    Powerful poem Sabra. I’m thinking of old Henry and his habit of decapitating wives by queen’s sword instead of the common axe. (Small comfort) Love it, love that you had some time to write. Miss your writing. 🙂

  9. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Veronica. I love your association. Worked the Sunday Whirl in with my state income tax and lots of chores in the house today. My front and back yards are beautiful and I wanted a day home to enjoy the view. It rained today, but still it was nice to see all the blooms and we needed the rain.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    I recently joined a small writing group and they too, are fascinated by the wordle words. They also supply prompts once a week and are delighted to see them worked in with the word list. They don’t blog, but a couple of them are asking a lot of how to questions. It’s so much fun to spread the word. That said, I enjoyed your tale.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  11. Sabra Bowers says:

    Glad you enjoyed my tale, Elizabeth. Thanks for leaving me a comment. I like The Whirl because Brenda doesn’t tell us what to write, only some words to use. I’m always delighted and amazed by the pieces we write. I’ll be interested to know who you like your writing group. Best!

  12. Cathy says:

    Whoa, that pack a bit of a punch to it. Love it.

  13. Kathy says:

    Great Renaissance visual from your words. Bold indeed!

  14. Sabra Bowers says:

    I like knowing about your visual, Kathy. Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment. Hugs.

  15. julespaigej says:

    A great escape… a journey… an adventure – I see all these things.
    What a great joy to have a local group to share your poetic voices.

    Thank you for your kind words. I just go where the words take me. I was surprised when counting up my titles that I had reached 52. And the adventure continues…especially and as long as it is and does remain fun to do.

  16. Sabra Bowers says:

    It is wonderful to have a local group, Jules. There are several regular open mic groups in Atlanta. Congratulations on reaching 52 titles. I also just go where the words take me. That makes it fun for me. Thanks for leaving me a comment. Glad to be whirling with you.

Leave a Reply

