Wings of Protection

Wordle 98~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This week’s words at Sunday Whirl are first, instant, snare, ride, slap, blue, unbalance, deserves, wings, blessed, dust, and gasps.

Here is my thought on these words:

Wings of Protection

gasps

don’t slap or snare

no one deserves

blue and unbalanced

blessed

the instant I first

allowed for dust

by a ride on Angel wings

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wings of Protection

  1. oldegg says:

    There is a certain sadness here where I read blue as cruelty and torment and has certain parallels with my own piece, although mine is of regret.

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Yes, you read it correctly. I did mean sadness. I’m glad it came across. Thank you for you read and comment. 🙂

  3. julespaige says:

    Your link in Mr. Linky is not working but I found you.

    This almost reminds me of the second story of Peter Pan. Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens or some such. Because while the boy flies, he does not grow up. When he does decide to return, it is too late.

    Thank you for your visits to both of my Whirl pieces.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thanks for letting me know about Mr. Linky. Maybe I should link again. Delighted this reminded you of Peter Pan. Thanks for reading and leaving me a comment. 🙂

  4. Veronica Roth says:

    Hi Sabra, I’m so sorry I haven’t been by lately. I promise to catch up. Also feeling sadness in this lovely little surrealistic poem and maybe a hope for something better. 🙂

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Hi Veronica. Thank you for reading and leaving me a comment. Yes, sadness is visiting and I do hope for better days because I know everything changes and nothing came to stay, it all “came to pass.”

  5. claudsy says:

    Good job, Sabra.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by, reading, and leaving me a comment. I like good job from you, Claudsy. I write these so fast that I wonder if I should even post them on my blog, but that is the game and I’m playing and enjoying. I appreciate you.

  6. Kathy says:

    Most appropriate for your visit this week . . . .

  7. Tumblewords says:

    A thoughtful piece, well done.

  8. Nice job Sabra! I’m glad I chose your name this week. I don’t always have the time to read them all each week, and i believe this is the first of yours I’ve read – and it was certainly a delight! Great use of the words. I experimented this week:

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/two-lines-a-day-day-6/

    P.S. I have a girlfriend that I first met in 7th grade (a LONG time ago) named Sabra. You’re the only other Sabra I have heard of. I love the name, but wonder what people in Israel think? Do they like calling a girl “Girl?” (Just a silly thought from my deranged mind, not meant to offend! As I said, I do love the name. It is a savory word to pronounce.)

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you for visiting, reading, and leaving me a comment. I’m not sure I understand your question, “Do they like calling a girl “Girl?” But I do understand “but wonder what people in Isreal think?” The word Sabra has been around much longer than when the people of Isreal first began to use it to describe some members of their community. They didn’t invent the word nor do they own the word. Sabra is the name of the fruit of the prickly pear cactus. That is why the people of Isreal chose to use the word. They wanted to describe themselves as prickly on the outside, but sweet on the inside. It is my understanding the prickly pear cactus was originally from Mexico and was taken to the middle east. Sabra is a well known word and name not only in the middle east, but in other parts of the world. Too bad the only definition that often shows up now is the one relating Sabra to the state of Isreal. I’m of British decent and my naming relates to Princess Sabra and St George as depicted in Dante Gabriel Rossetti’s and Edward Burne-Jones’ paintings from the 1800s and the story is from the middle ages Golden Legend…long before Sabra was used to describe (or name) a native-born Isreali. My mother says when she was a little girl, she read a comic strip that had a female character named Sabra. She liked the name.

      • What great info for me! I can’t thank you enough – I am a trivia buff, not to say that your name origin is trivial! I was told that Sabra in Hebrew means “girl,” which was the reason for my question! I hope you weren’t offended, it’s just my way, frequently, of putting my mouth in motion before my mind is in gear! 😆 My brother chose to have his grandchildren call him “Saba,” which is Hebrew for Grandfather. I’ll be back to your blog!

  9. Sabra Bowers says:

    Paula, not offended. I love the name Saba. I’ve wanted to use it for a character. I also like the name Sidra. I have a short story with a character named Sidra. I like Sidra because it combines the beginning of my late dad’s name Sid (Sidney) with the ending of my name, Sabra. So glad you will visit again. All the best to you, Paula.

Leave a Reply

