Mulled Wine

Doug working in his home officePoet Mariya Koleva’s prompt at WordsmithStudio.org and Bolton Carley’s Candy-Coated Love-Fest have me remembering my late husband and our fun times together.  Since before we married, we loved trying new foods.  Doug enjoyed preparing food more than I, and he enjoyed a glass of wine or beer when he cooked.   He transitioned 6 years ago. Doug, I’m thinking of you as Valentine’s Day approaches.

Mulled Wine

You enjoyed spiced wine.

So did I.

We called it Glogg.

Our first sip was at

the Old Sautee Store in Helen.

The ladies kept it warm

for tasting.

We bought their Scandinavian spice

to make our own mulled wine

at home.

Atlanta wasn’t an international city then,

but you and I traveled the world

with our taste buds.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mulled Wine

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    That works well for Valentine’s Day and wintry weather. I like the last bit about traveling the world through taste.

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Joy. I can see that you would like traveling the world through taste because of the great writing you do about diet and food. Thank you for letting me know. I actually went online and ordered their spices after I wrote this poem. Looking forward to smelling and tasting and remembering.

  3. Sweet remembrance poem!

  4. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Mariya. So glad to see you here. Thanks for the great prompt.

  5. Mark Spruill says:

    Sabra,

    I love this one! Traveling the world through taste buds. Inspired words.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Mark. I remember when I first came to Atlanta and we would have different foods and how much we enjoyed the experience…pizza, lobster, asian food. Now those foods are everyday, but not then. Thanks for leaving me a comment, Mark.

Leave a Reply

