Amber Visits

It is Sunday morning and I’m sitting at my favorite local writing spot…a sidewalk table at Chocolate Perks.

Although the photo is a golden autumn scene, I’m about to share with you a poem I wrote in July.

When my online friend, the writer and artist Veronica Roth, wrote about golden light on her blog, I knew exactly the kind of light she was writing about.  Mine had been the most beautiful light on a summer’s eve…the last rays of the day.  I commented to Veronica that I had written a poem about that very light and promised to share the poem.

I hope you’ve been gifted to experience this amber light yourself, and that your experience allows you to resonate with my poem, as I resonated with Veronica’s post.

Amber Visits

For weeks

around 8:30 each evening,

amber light illumines.

Turns the air golden

and ambers the summer leaves.

A stillness settles

and fills me with reverence.

After about five minutes,

there is a sacred shift in the air.

Darkness slowly envelopes,

bringing nights of rest

and intimacy with self.

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Amber Visits

  1. Robin Poole says:

    I am right there with you. Thank you.

  2. That was beautiful Sabra.

  3. Veronica Roth says:

    So brilliant Sabra, I love it! It does feel like a sacred shift, doesnt it. I’ve felt it so many times. Aren’t we lucky to be able to feel these moments? (Even if it makes us cry) 🙂

  4. Very peaceful words. Nice.

  5. Sharon says:

    Wow!
    You definately have talent.

  6. Emily McGee says:

    Mm, that was so lovely and made me really sad to miss summer in the U.S. I love when it stays light out until 8:30 or 9, as you mention in your poem. Here in Kenya we are so close to the equator that it always gets dark around 7 pm.

    Also, I look forward to checking out your favorite writing place when I get home. Chocolate Perks sounds like my kind of place.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      I’d love to introduce you to Chocolate Perks. It is on a very quiet street in old town Duluth.
      It now gets dark here around 6, I believe. This weekend we moved our clocks back an hour. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Kenya.

  7. Gerry Wilson says:

    Sabra, I know this kind of light. For us, it happens in the fall, when there’s an especially luminous quality to the sky late in the afternoons. A lovely poem. You captured it!

  8. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you Gerry. Yes, I think we are experiencing some of that light now in late afternoon. Especially beautiful when the leaves are already golden as they are this weekend in Atlanta.

  9. brian miller says:

    nice…beautiful imagery..the light this time of year does set the orld ina beautiful light….and i find peace in that…

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Brian. Yes, peace and joy. Atlanta is filled with trees and autumn brings trees aglow with shades of red and gold. Thank you for leaving me a comment. Much appreciated!

  10. claudia says:

    nice…love the picture you paint with your words…unfortunately missed most of this year’s autumn due to my time in california…

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Claudia. Our Atlanta autumn was not the most spectacular, but some trees were beautiful. It is my favorite season. Very glad you read my blog and commented. I’m off to read your blog.

  11. I’ve seen that beautiful golden light myself…. and what a wonderful subtlety to the name “Amber”, it actually reflects the hue beautifully!

  12. claudia says:

    happy new year to you… smiles

Leave a Reply

