Mystical Experience

The tree to the left is a dogwood on my property.  Although it is now autumn in Atlanta, I want to share an experience I had in the spring with two Japanese Tulip trees.

That warm, sunshine-filled day, I was eating lunch and reading in an office park.  Amazingly, no one else was around.  My eyes moved from reading a book to resting on the beautiful pink trees directly across from me.  I felt the trees sensed my deep appreciation of their worth and beauty.  Suddenly the tulip trees moved and no other trees in the park moved at all.  Were they responding to me?

Yes, I know a whirlwind is probably the explanation for their movement, but that in no way takes away from my wonder and awe that day as I humbly acknowledged the trees in return.  Naturally, I wrote a poem about my mystical experience and even today I still carry that sense of wonder with me.

The Bow

Shades of pink

floating on the branches

of the Japanese Tulip trees.

An occasional pink petal

letting go and floating free.

A sudden breeze shakes and bows

the branches toward me.

I remember a long ago greeting

of the Alvin Ailey dancers.

The awe I felt as the dancers shook

and bowed to acknowledge us,

their audience.

And now the pink tulip trees

shaking and bowing as if to say,

“We see you.”

Feeling the awe of acknowledgement again,

I place my palms together in front of my face.

I bow and say “Namaste.”

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Mystical Experience

  1. Robin Poole says:

    What a stupendous moment to share. It is really quite wonderful.

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    I’m delighted to hear that, Lara. I definitely have both and I’m glad to have company.

  3. Kathy says:

    Trees are quite spiritual and I am in awe of your moment with them . . . one wise one bowing to the other wise one.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Hi Kathy. Yes, I do believe trees bring out our spiritual side. I like to study and appreciate the beauty of their bark. You will begin to feel a life presence when you sit and really see a tree..especially the part that is always there…the trunk and branches.

  4. danadampier says:

    What a beautiful experience!

  5. Thanks for introducing me to your pink friends, Sabra. Because of your lovely words they are alive in my mind.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Hi Ben. I like that you referred to them as pink friends. I plan to visit them again this spring when they are blooming. Since we have shared these words, I bet I’ll think of
      you too on that spring day.

  6. Veronica Roth says:

    Wow Sabra, that’s a wonderful moment. There is absolutely nothing wrong with believing in common magic. I do it all the time. Namaste is exactly the right thing to say. 🙂

  7. Nice! Love the colors and the movement in this piece.

  8. cecilia says:

    Lovely, what an experience.. c

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you, Cecilia. I think I’ve shared with you that I grew up on a farm and feel very connected to nature. I love reading your blog each morning. I don’t post on a regular basis (I know I should), but I love seeing you here when I do post. Have a super day!

  9. Mark says:

    I share your joy and respect for the beauty and life found in all of creation, and especially in beautiful trees. Your story and poem are inspiring.

  10. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you, Mark. I enjoy hearing from you here on my blog. Your last post about the little tree in your backyard deserves to be in your future daily devotional.

  11. claudsy says:

    This was such a marvelous story and poem, Sabra. Do trees talk to us or acknowledge our presence. I certainly like to think so. I know many who would agree. Yours was indeed a mystical experience and you were a privileged one to have it.

    Thank you for much for sharing this small magic with us. May your life be filled with such blessings as these. Namaste, my friend.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you for visiting and sharing your comments with me Claudsy. I’m very glad to learn that you too appreciate the mystical moments and the blessings available to us from all of life. Thank you for your blessing to me. Namaste, my friend.

      • claudsy says:

        You’re more than welcome, my friend. There are many things in this life that can be appreciated if only we will open ourselves to them.

  12. sorrygnat says:

    loved this; just getting back to blogging; thanks for your like on my 12/30 post; aging has a lot to say for it!

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Thank you for visiting my blog, Esther. I too hope to blog more in 2013. I loved your sentence which included the therapist’s dustbuster. It was a delight to read! All the best to you in 2013.

  13. cindy knoke says:

    Just beautiful & quite moving! Thank you~

Leave a Reply

