One Nourishing Experience

Last night brought a nourishing experience for mind, body, and spirit.  At the beautiful home www.namestoyfarm.com of a most loving friend, I and many others listened to a lesson from Tonzin Lama Sherpa, a Tibetan Buddhist Monk, who is staying with my friend through the month of June.  We welcomed the presence of silence as an expression of reverence for all; and I relished the hugs from friends I had not seen in a long while.  Speaking softly with love and compassion, Tonzin finished his lesson as the sun was setting.

We then prepared for a 31 minute sound healing meditation lead by Gongmaster Yogiray Kessler. We were bathed in wave after wave of gentle to vibrant sounds from large gongs and other percussion instruments.  It was not only a meditation for the mind, but an absorbing physical meditation as the waves of sound washed through our bodies and left us totally relaxed.   We had smiles on our faces as we each left for home.

How have you nourished yourself lately?  Your sharing could give someone the exact spark they need to create  nourishing experiences for themselves.  Yesterday afternoon I sat in my backyard swing and loved the wind, sunshine, and moving shadows under the old dogwood trees.  I know that was also a most nourishing experience!

About Sabra Bowers

Poet / Blogger / Writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One Nourishing Experience

  1. Janice Butt says:

    Last night, my choir director helped us create a lotion from essential oils, base on our own needs. I built mine around pain aromas. Hope it helps.

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Wonderful, Janice. I’ll intend with you that it does. Please let me know the results. I have Spikenard Essential Oil. I like having it because it is the oil Mary used to to anoint Jesus’ feet. I don’t use it; I keep it as a sacred reminder of Mary and Jesus and the lesson of her nourishing, honoring act.

  3. boltoncarley says:

    nothing does more for me than laying out in the sunshine with a book and a beverage…

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      I like all those things too! Simple, necessary pleasures. Sad to say, but I don’t get in the sunshine enough. Thank you for sharing what nourishes you. I’m going to let your share prompt me to get more sunlight. Best!

  4. boltoncarley says:

    well, actually, church in my hometown with my family close by and old hymns we all know does wonders as well.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Old hymns…yes! They stir something very deep. It feels like ancestral energy, if that makes sense. I’ve read that singers’ brain waves begin to function as one unit when they sing together. Must be one of the reasons it feels so good to sing with a group. Thanks for sharing, Bolton. Now I’m off to find my Elvis Gospel CD…been a long time since I’ve listened to it.

  5. Veronica Roth says:

    That’s wonderful Sabra. Great to find these moments. When I’m stressed I tend to chant the Gayatri Mantra as part of my meditation. To me, that’s very soothing.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Yes!…chanting is powerful medicine. Chanting along with meditation would be soothing and healing. Excellent way to nourish ourselves. Thank you, Veronica. All things good to you!

  6. Amy says:

    Just reading about your experience was nourishing. Thank you.

  7. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Amy. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog. Reading can be nourishing. It definitely helps me. Best to you!

  8. Kim Bussey says:

    I find a walk alone through the woods by myself to be nourishing for my soul. I try to do it almost every morning, shortly after I wake up.

    • Sabra Bowers says:

      Wow, what a beautiful way to start your day. I feel the presence of trees and know how nourishing that walk must be. I love to swing under a huge, old dogwood in my backyard. It is the largest dogwood I’ve ever seen. Thanks for sharing, Kim.

Leave a Reply

